Go to ...

Sick And Destroy

Your personal metal Encyclopaedia!

RSS Feed

December 6, 2019

ATHEIST Signs With AGONIA RECORDS; New Album Due This Year

Technical metal pioneers ATHEIST have signed a worldwide deal with Agonia Records. The band’s long-awaited follow-up to 2010’s critically acclaimed “Jupiter” album is tentatively due before the end of the year.

ATHEIST co-founder and vocalist Kelly Shaefer commented: “2018 will mark our 30th year of making records. ATHEIST will embark on a very important album with an important new label along with a great team behind us, including Extreme Management Group. I feel confident that together, and with their anticipated dedication to bringing ATHEIST to a new level, the band will be poised for a crushing, new record! We cannot wait to begin this new chapter.”

Agonia Records commented: “We’re beyond excited to welcome ATHEIST to our roster. This is a band of extreme talent and bold creativity, a band lauded for their invaluable contribution to the death metal genre. They’ve been there in the early years and paved the way for countless acts playing progressive/technical death metal nowadays. We feel honored to help them pave the way for next generations to come”.

ATHEIST was formed in 1988 by Shaefer and drummer Steve Flynn. Followed by bands such as DEATH and CYNIC, they would define a sound that is a pillar of complex, progressive, jazz-infused death metal intensity, with supreme musical prowess — the genre celebrated and known today as “progressive technical death metal.” ATHEIST attained that status thanks to its debut, “Piece Of Time” (1989), and second album, “Unquestionable Presence” (1991), both regarded as important benchmarks of the genre.

ATHEIST 2018 is:

Kelly Shaefer (Vocals)
Steve Flynn (Drums)
Chris Martin (Guitar)
Jason Holloway (Guitar)
Source: News

Meine Seite