Go to ...

Sick And Destroy

Your personal metal Encyclopaedia!

RSS Feed

May 24, 2019

Listen To New QUICKSAND Song 'Cosmonauts'

“Cosmonauts”, a brand new song from QUICKSAND, can be streamed below. The track is taken from the New York City post-hardcore band’s upcoming album, “Interiors”, which will be released on November 10 via Epitaph.

QUICKSAND‘s first album in twenty-two years, “Interiors” features the band’s original (and only) lineup of drummer Alan Cage, frontman/guitarist Walter Schreifels, bassist Sergio Vega and guitarist Tom Capone.

Recorded at Studio 4 Recording in Conshohocken, Pennsylvania, “Interiors” was produced and engineered by Will Yip (THE MENZINGERS, TITLE FIGHT, PIANOS BECOME THE TEETH). While the album finds QUICKSAND embracing the cathartic, guitar-driven dynamic of the band’s earlier work, “Interiors” also takes on a wider spectrum of sound.

“It was all just about being ourselves and who we were as well as who we are,” says Schreifels of the making of “Interiors”. “We did it for us completely.”

“Interiors” track listing:

01. Illuminant
02. Under The Screw
03. Warm And Low
04. >
05. Cosmonauts
06. Interiors
07. Hyperion
08. Fire This Time
09. Feels Like A Weight Has Been Lifted
10. >>
11. Sick Mind
12. Normal Love

Formed in 1990, QUICKSAND released its full-length debut, “Slip” — a 1993 effort recently praised by The A.V. Club as “a nearly flawless record that combines the irony and heaviness of HELMET with FUGAZI‘s penchant to dismantle sound in the most energetic ways.” Arriving in 1995, their sophomore album, “Manic Compression”, appeared at #1 on the Top Five Best Post-Hardcore Records list from LA Weekly (who noted that “if there were any justice in the world, QUICKSAND would have been the biggest underground band of the ’90s”).

“We were very influenced by FUGAZI and JANE’S ADDICTION,” says Schreifels of the band’s beginnings. “But we were doing it in a certain context with an energy that was just special and unique and kind of shined through.”

Throughout the early ’90s, QUICKSAND toured with bands like HELMET, FUGAZI, RAGE AGAINST THE MACHINE and ANTHRAX. After disbanding in late 1995, they reunited for a one-night performance in June 2012. They’ve since appeared at festivals like FYF Fest and Pukkelpop, and in 2013 embarked on their first North American tour in fifteen years.

Source: News