Go to ...

Sick And Destroy

Your personal metal Encyclopaedia!

RSS Feed

January 26, 2020

Interview Extinction

  • Hi! Give a brief history of Extinction, music style, and the members.

Danilo (guitars): Hi. Extinction is a thrash death metal band originally formed in 1995 in Puglia (Italy) by Massimo Muci (vocals), Danilo Bonuso (guitar), Daniele Greco (guitar), Giuseppe de Benedittis (bass) and Tonio Latino (drums).

In November 1996 the band released their demo “Progress Regress” and exactly an year later the band split up.

In 2014, I’ve reformed the band in Turin with Alice Darkpeace (vocals), Jacopo Farcito (bass) and Alberto Scrivano (drums).

After Jacopo had left the band in February 2015, Marco Vicenza became the new bassist and Marco “Hellfire” Campanati joins the band as second guitarist.

On 30 April 2017 the band released the debut album “The Monarch Slaves” with the german label Unholy Fire Records.

In October 2018, Alice leaves the band due to disagreements and at its place comes Filippo “ Howling SStar” Collaro.

Between April and May 2019, we’ve recorded the new album The Apocalypse Mark.

In July 2019, after bassist Marco was replaced by Lorenzo Catolla, the band signs the contract with the renowned Italian label Revalve Records.

  • Give in more detail, some information about The Apocalypse Mark?

Danilo: Unlike the previous album, The Apocalypse Mark was composed with the participation of the whole band, mainly in the ten months of live inactivity due to absence for work and study of Alice.

Exactly two years after The Monarch Slaves we’re back with a very interesting album that I hope will receive positive accolades.

Of the titletrack is currently available a beautiful lyric video, whose text deals with the subcutaneous microchip that allows to carry out different daily actions comfortably, but which also has a second purpose, namely that of global control of the population. It has been compared to the mark of the Beast described in the Apocalypse and is already a reality in America and Sweden!

  • Extinction has signed with Revalve records, tell more about that?

Danilo: After receiving offers from various European labels, we chose the italian Revalve Records as the worldwide distribution and promotion offered reflected the needs of the current line up.

  • What is the difference between your latest and the very first records?

Danilo: The substantial difference between the previous album and the new one is the change on the vocals, or being passed from a female to a male voice; but I want to emphasize that Extinction in the nineties were formed with a male voice.

The style has remained faithful to the melodic thrash death metal of the beginnings, with the difference of having acquired a greater instrumental technique, thanks also to the new members.

  • What inspires Extinction music and lyric writing? What does Extinction lyrics talk about?

Danilo. The lyrics were written mainly by me and drummer Alberto.

I deal with themes that refer to the hidden plots of the strong powers that govern the world, while Alberto is passionate about serial killers and historical themes.

  • Do you play live often? Do you like abroad gigs?

Danilo: Certainly we like concerts abroad, so much so that for a week we have returned from a tour of three dates in Germany. The tour will continue in Italy, always together with the Germans Grimgod, from 17 to 19 October. We try to do as many concerts as possible to promote the new album. I invite everyone to follow our movements on our Facebook and Instagram pages, as well as on the website www.extinctionband.com.

  • How often do the band practice and work on new material?

Danilo: We go to the rehearsal room once a week and when there are no live shows to prepare, we start working on riffs and mainly my ideas and those of Marco Hellfire.

  • How did the band come up with the name Extinction and tell what does it mean for you?

Danilo: I really liked the title of the Megadeth album Countdown To Extinction. The name then perfectly suited our style and the themes of our lyrics concerning a world adrift.

  • What does the band plan on doing in the near time?

Danilo: We are currently busy with various concerts and, as soon as we have the opportunity, we will start to compose new material and decide how to make a video clip.

  • Any message to Sick and Destroy readers?

Danilo: We thank you for this interview, and I hope you can listen and review The Apocalypse Mark soon.

I also invite readers to follow us on social media and to get the album either in CD or digital format. You will not regret it!

Meine Seite