Go to ...

Sick And Destroy

Your personal metal Encyclopaedia!

RSS Feed

February 21, 2020

Interview Nemesis Alpha

  • Hi! Give a brief history of the band, music style, and the members.

We are called Nemesis Alpha and we are primarily a studio project/band. Band members include me, Rudy Leal, Joseph Church, Marcos Leal (Shattered Sun, Ill Nino) and Bjorn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork, The Night Flight Orchestra). It started as a one-man band/solo project with me writing and recording all the music, and Bjorn contributing vocals on the entire debut album. After the debut release, I met Joseph and we immediately meshed our styles and began writing and recording the songs that would make up this new album. After the completion of the music, Marcos was also brought onboard to split vocal duties with Bjorn.

We are heavily influenced by older melodic death metal like In Flames, Soilwork, Dark Tranquility, and At the Gates, but we also get a lot of inspiration from newer technical bands like Obscura and Allegaeon. The idea

is to make music that’s both very technical, yet still have those heavy melodic elements in it. We really pushed ourselves with this last album, especially guitar-wise.

  • Give in more detail, some information about your latest album and how well it sells?

Eternal Machines can be considered a semi-concept album with each song leading into the next, telling the story of how humans are constantly evolving. Each song concurrently explains the journey from the inception and creation of machines and technology to the eventual surpassing by our own technological creations and advances.

For this album, I wanted to completely revamp the sound and make it as brutal, technical and melodic as possible, and I feel we really accomplished that. We actually had to cut a fair number of fades and small transitions because when going to press physical CDs, we realized we had maxed out the time available on a compact disc at 74 min. and would to have been a double disc.

  • You have signed with Sliptrick records, tell more about that?

This project is unique because it is a studio project/band instead of a full-time touring band, so finding a label for that specific situation was somewhat difficult. Luckily, we came in contact with Carlo and Sliptrick Records and they were able to accommodate our unique situation with a solid deal that benefits both sides, while allowing us to keep a ton of freedom, which is pretty great considering the reputation that record labels get. So far its been a great relationship and I look forward to the release and the future with them.

  • What inspires your music and lyric writing? What does your lyrics talk about?

For the debut album, each song was written specifically to each song and varied in subject/topic. There was no overlying theme, but instead just went off the vibe of each song.

For this second/newest album, there is an overlying theme/concept and each song flows and tells a story into the next. The first few songs take us through the past and current negative effects humans have had on the planet and life, while the middle songs continue the journey of how the machines have also evolved. Eventually the last songs and the finale describe the surpassing of our species, our insignificance, and how its eventual effects on future generations.

  • Do you play live often? Do you like abroad gigs?

Since we are a studio project/band we don’t play live, but Marcos and Bjorn stay extremely busy with their main bands Shattered Sun and Soilwork. You can catch them on tour this summer, with Shattered Sun supporting Evergrey on a U.S. tour run, and Soilwork on some major festivals overseas.

  • How often does the band practice and work on new material?

Joseph and I are constantly working on new material any chance we get. Our workflow has become very streamlined, with either of us writing nearly a whole song draft, then we get send back and forth, edit, refine, then collaborate until we both feel that it can’t get any better. From there we send it off to Bjorn or Marcos to track vocals when they get free time.

  • How did the band come up with the name and tell what does it means for you?

I wanted something that really represented the band and the unique situation of the project. It started as a one-man band/solo project with me writing and recording all the music, and Bjorn “Speed” Strid (Soilwork, Night Flight Orchestra) contributing vocals on the entire debut album. To me, Nemesis Alpha meant that even though there is not a full band contributing and writing, the project could be just as good and competitive with any full band.

  • What does the band plan on doing in near time?

We’re still in the process of getting a few musicians/members to start playing live, but other than that, we’re just going to keep working on new material and keep promoting the upcoming album release.

  • Any message to Sick and Destroy readers?

We just released the first single/video, Soul Deceiver, off the new album and are releasing the second by the end of July. The album, “Eternal Machines”, will be out September 13, 2019 via Sliptrick Records so be on the lookout and pick it up!

In the meantime, check out our social media for updates and thanks for having us and taking the time to listen!!

Meine Seite